Wednesday, November 29, 2006

Negros Oriental governor is most outstanding

Congratulations to Negros Oriental Governor George Arnaiz for having been awarded as this year's most outstanding governor by the pretigious annual Local Government Leadership Awards (LGLA).
The local government leadarship awards, is a pet project of Senator Aquilino Q. Pimentel Jr., himself a former local official as mayor of Cagayan de Oro City in the 1980's.
The LGLA aims to recognize the innovative undertakings of local government officials which make an impact in improving the welfare of their respective constituencies.
Governor Arnaiz, who is now in his third and last term has been finally recognized for his efforts in improving the lives of Oriental Negrenses.
Below is the press statement from the office of Senator Pimentel:


The winners of the 2006 Local Government LeadershipAwards (LGLA) were honored today at the awardingceremonies held at the Senate building in Pasay City.
The principal winners are Negros Oriental Governor George P. Arnaiz, most outstanding provincialgovernor; Surigao City Mayor Alfonso Casurra, mostoutstanding city mayor; and Mayor Jupiter C. Dominguezof Sabangan, Mountain Province, most outstandingmunicipal mayor.
Senate President Manuel Villar, Jr. and Sen. AquilinoQ. Pimentel, Jr. the moving force behind the LGLA,conferred the awards on the winners during simplerites held at the Sen. Ambrosio Padilla Room.
Gov. Arnaiz was chosen most outstanding governor forspearheading the Negros Island Sustainable Agricultureand Rural Development Program, a joint undertaking ofNegros Oriental and Negros Occidental. He madepossible the construction of facilities needed for theeconomic and social advancement of the province likethe Drug Treatment and Rehabilitation Center, thethree-storey provincial hospital administrationbuilding, the Perdices Memorial Coliseum Complex andthe 1,000-seater provincial convention center.
Mayor Casurra emerged as most outstanding city mayorin recognition of his efforts in making Surigao Citythe most competitive city in the country under theSmall Cities Category in terms of cost of doingbusiness. The peaceful co-existence among thedifferent peoples and the close collaboration with thepolice and community has catapulted Surigao City into the one of the Rotary International’s 50 Peace Citiesin the world since 2003.
Mayor Jupiter Dominguez won as most outstandingmunicipal mayor because of his inspiring leadership byinstilling the people of Sabangan town with the spiritof hard work, dedication and commitment to excelamidst trials while preserving the unique indigenousculture and practices.
Also awarded were Outstanding Local Chief Executivesin various categories:
Outstanding governors: Gov. Erico Aumentado of Boholand Gov. Vicente Bermejo of Capiz.Outstanding City Mayors: Mayor Santiago Barcelona ofEscalante City and Mayor Florencio Bernabe ofParaƱaque City.Outstanding Municipal Mayors: Ronald Allan Cesante,Dalaguete Cebu; Maximo Estela, Sto. Tomas, Davao delNorte; Jeorge (E.R.) Ejercito Estregan, Pagsanjan,Laguna; Luis Ferrer, General Trias, Cavite; AlfonsoGamboa, Enrique Magalona, Negros Occidental.

No comments: